Adrian Greenwood

Director of UK & Export Sales, Sterling Publishing (April 2010)

"Helen has provided a huge boost to Sterling's profile and reviews in the UK media. She worked on over 30 books in a short space of time and secured excellent coverage in channels we had not previously been exposed to. For example, Clean Food will be reviewed in a variety of high profile magazines this summer including Red, Health & Fitness and Sainsbury's. She helped change the way we are perceived in the market and I look forward to working with Booked PR again in the future."

Alec Grimsley

Vital Conversations (April 2010)

"I can say without reservation that Helen is worth every penny you will spend on her services. In particular she blends creativity in thinking of smart ways to get you in front of the right media and contacts, with a tireless work effort that is often way beyond the amount of hours you have paid for. My book is quite specialist and we worked hard together across 5 months to produce a selection of national newspaper articles, 15 plus BBC radio interviews and several key business publications have published features or book reviews. As a result of this extensive media coverage, Waterstones upgraded my book to core stock which should help enormously with high street sales. Helen has some great contacts but is also totally comfortable making cold calls to get you in front of the right people. If you can demonstrate your commitment, she'll help to make your PR campaign a success!"

Mel Arora

Books Marketing Manager, GMC Publications (March 2010)

"It was a great relief to have Helen step in and take over our lead title press while we've been without an in-house publicist. She has been a pleasure to work with, showing great adaptability across a wide range of titles. We were particularly delighted with the BBC Radio 4 Today interview which she secured for Flawless and her enthusiasm in raising the profile of some key series."

Jane Gunn

How to Beat Bedlam in the Boardroom and Boredom in the Bedroom (March 2010)

"Helen has been a gold mine of contacts and ideas to really kick start the PR effort for my book. As well as reviews in People Management, The HR Director, Better Business Focus and the Financial Mail Women's Forum, she secured me interviews on BBC Five Live and LBC. She is also enormous fun to work with and I thoroughly recommend her!"

Tim Moore

Marketing Director, Infinite Ideas (February 2010)

"Helen has worked with Infinite Ideas on several titles with great success. Most recently, Helen secured a two-page serialisation in The Daily Mail for Big Fat Lies by Hannah Sutter. This provided a fantastic anchor for the rest of our publicity campaign and helped to instantly propel the title into the top 100 on Amazon."

Giles de la Mare

Musical Heroes (May 2009)

"Helen has collaborated with Giles de la Mare Publishers most effectively and imaginatively in launching and promoting Musical Heroes by Robert Ponsonby in 2009. The result has been that the book has received several reviews rapidly, one of them being exceptional in its enthusiasm, and the sales have got off to an excellent start. The highlight of the campaign was having the book recommended in the 'Financial Times Critics' Hottest Holiday Reading' list this summer. It has been great working together with her."

Elaine Mummery

Spotless (May 2009)

"On reflection, writing my book was the easy part. Marketing and getting people to buy a copy was where the real effort and hard work began. I was very fortunate for my publishing company Matador to introduce me to Helen McCusker at Booked PR. Helen is delightful, positive and knows all the right people. She has worked extremely hard in promoting my book and always keeps me updated on who she has spoken to and the outcome. When you pop into a bookstore there are so many titles available and you quickly realise that just because the shop stocks your book, it does not mean that it is going to be a bestseller. A book needs to be continually marketed and Helen is always looking for opportunities; whether it be a newspaper review, magazine article, radio interview, or television feature. As a result, Spotless made it into Take a Break magazine in October 2009, with a fantastic review on the beauty page. I know that my book is in good hands and that with the help of Booked PR, my book will get into the right hands."

George Cooper

The Origin of Financial Crises (August 2008)

"Helen worked tirelessly generating interest in my book from newspapers, magazines, radio and television channels all around the world. She dealt with press releases, media enquires and got the book in front of a number of influential high profile editors. All in all, a pleasure to work with."

William Houston

Water (June 2008)

"Helen has been responsible for managing publicity for both books that I have co-authored with Robin Griffiths. It is my view that the press releases and her enthusiastic support for promoting our books deserves the highest praise, and I commend her work to anyone using her services."

Shirley Clarkson

Bearly Believable (June 2008)

"I have had the pleasure of working closely with Helen over the last eight months whilst publishing my book. Right from the start, Helen undertook the task of publicity for the work and pursued it with great enthusiasm. She has a very friendly personality and is charming to all with whom she comes into contact. Diligent to the extreme, she organised a book launch for me in June. I was confident that everything would be efficiently executed and her presence on the night made the whole affair a memorable occasion. Many people commented on what a charming girl she was. Helen was the instigator in acquiring many radio and television interviews for me and seemed to have entry into various areas of the media. I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Helen as a delightful, hard working member of any team."

Brian Walters

The Fall of Northern Rock (May 2008)

"I was impressed by Helen's considerable efforts in attracting PR for the promotion of my book. I thought that her press release at the launch was a very professional piece of work and, judging by the media coverage that followed, it clearly caught the eye. In particular I was most impressed with her ability to set up two live TV interviews with Sky News and BBC News 24, and a further four radio interviews (BBC Radio Five Live, BBC Radio Wales, BBC Radio Scotland and BBC Radio Newcastle) all on the same day. Indeed had it not been for a sudden illness to the researcher's wife, I would also have had an appearance on BBC Newsnight to add to that list! In addition there have been book reviews by City AM, London Evening Standard, The Spectator, The Socialist, The Journal, The Yorkshire Post and others. Clearly, Helen has a wide range of media contacts at her disposal and these have been invaluable in giving my book the high profile exposure required to provide an early sales push. As always her efforts are much appreciated and she continues to advise me of progress and new developments."

Emma Jones

Spare Room Start Up (May 2008)

"Helen worked with me on the launch and promotion of my first book. She successfully secured book reviews, interviews and write-ups in the business and lifestyle press. Helen is well connected and a useful ally to have around when promoting your book."

Edmund and Helen Tirbutt

Beat the Booze (January 2008)

"We have worked with Helen during the past year to promote our book and have been very impressed by her energy, enthusiasm and hard work. She is fun to deal with and will always go that extra mile for you. We have also been impressed by her ability to obtain the very major pieces of PR that can make all the difference. For example, she secured us a double page spread in the Daily Mail and has obtained similar spectacular results for many other authors, including national radio and TV appearances."

Ross Clark

How to Label a Goat & The Road to Southend Pier (November 2006) & (October 2007)

"For both of my books, Helen managed to secure prime time interviews for me on the Today programme and exclusive extracts in The Daily Mail, together with numerous other interviews on BBC Radio Five Live and local radio stations across the country. 'How to Label a Goat' also ran as a feature in the free London newspaper Metro, which helped keep it in the top 500 bestsellers on Amazon for six weeks before Christmas 2006. The book also ran as a front page on the Review section of The Daily Telegraph in January 2007. 'The Road to Southend Pier' was reviewed in The Spectator, The Mail on Sunday, The Times and The Times Literary Supplement. In June 2008 the book became the subject of a 'Three Minute Wonder' film on Channel Four. Throughout the marketing process of my books, Helen was an enthusiastic presence with whom it was always a pleasure to work."

Matthew Elliott and Dr. Lee Rotherham

The Bumper Book of Government Waste 2008 (October 2007)

"Helen provided a first class service to us when we were promoting both editions of our book. She took the time to understand the message behind the book and targeted the appropriate media outlets in an enthusiastic and knowledgeable fashion. We recommend her highly."

Julia Jeffries and Janice Warman

The Hey Nonny Handbook (June 2007)

"Helen was in charge of the promotion of our women's survival guide. She worked tirelessly on our behalf at the London launch, issued great press releases, and would field us opportunities to publicise our book in magazines and newspapers whenever they came her way. She was particularly pro-active at organising radio interviews and we did nine of these in the months following publication. We can recommend her without reservation."

Malcolm Pryor

The Financial Spread Betting Handbook (June 2007)

"Since my first book was published Helen has set up a number of good PR opportunities for me, which have in turn led to other things. This included an online TV interview for a major investment website, which has subsequently received thousands of hits. She has also kept me fully up to date with press coverage of my book. Helen is clearly well networked, very enthusiastic, committed and helpful."

Wiz Wharton

How To Have a Baby on eBay (April 2007)

"I have been very privileged to have had Helen dealing with the PR for my book. Even before first proof stage, Helen very kindly visited me in London (and paid for the drinks!) to talk me through the publicity process. Together we discussed potential marketing avenues for the book and Helen drew up a list of target clients, including media associations and other relevant parties. I was impressed with Helen's ability to think outside of the box in suggesting tangential markets, such as the child care arena. When the book was published Helen was incredibly proactive in identifying the golden hour of media opportunity and managed to get me some excellent features in national newspapers; The Sun and The Daily Express, in addition to some well regarded and widely read periodicals. Helen has also managed to help me establish a good relationship with LBC and Heart Radio, and put me in touch with eBay s marketing company who now approach me to act as a spokesperson. Throughout my dealings with Helen she has been so much more than a professional ally, although she has done this with incredible aplomb. She is also extremely personable and we regularly exchange e-mails and phone calls. Although snowed under with other commitments, Helen has never made me feel as though my book was just one amongst thousands; whenever I needed her commitment she has been there 100%, way beyond the normal call of duty for a title. Personally I think this is a wonderful and crucial asset for anyone involved in PR, although rarely found in my experience. I honestly feel as though I lucked out with her!"

Sally Nicoll

Bets and the City (November 2006)

"Helen is an absolute pleasure to work with. She is unfailingly reliable, cheerfully determined to hunt out the best media opportunities for those she represents and possesses true creative flair. It's thanks in large part to Helen - and the publicity she secured for me - that my book has been an Amazon best-seller in its category for well over a year. Anyone who works with her is lucky and I have no hesitation in recommending her to you."

Robert Pugh

The eBay Business Handbook & eBay Q&A (April 2006) & (August 2007)

"Professional, innovative and focused are just a few words I can use to describe Helen. Combine these qualities with a superb sense of humour and a deep industry knowledge and I can't imagine anybody better suited to the role. Launching another book about eBay into an already saturated market might prove a challenge too far for many people, but not Helen. Through her extensive contacts in the media, I soon found myself appearing on radio shows across the country and in a multitude of newspapers and publications. As a result, my humble book became the best seller of the genre in the UK and has remained at the top ever since. For the past two years Helen has promoted my books with astounding success - I could not have asked for more. Helen established an entirely new channel to market by nurturing relationships with internet based companies; their bulk purchases have seen my royalties soar. Perhaps the most important aspect for me is the great working relationship which has developed. Helen is always positive and nothing is too much trouble, what more could I ask for?"

Richard Farleigh

Taming The Lion (October 2005)

"Helen supported the marketing of my first book, which helped lead to my appearance on the panel of the hit BBC series Dragons' Den in 2007. She is always quick to organise media engagements and reliably updates me with new publicity opportunities as soon as they occur. I would happily recommend her to anyone seeking a first class book promotion service."

Nick Inman

Politipedia & The Optimist's Handbook (August 2007) & (November 2007)

"I always assumed that small publishers didn't do publicity, or at least they didn't put their heart into it, so I was amazed when Helen was assigned to my case. She was enthusiastic from the off; never seemed too busy to deal with me, and was always responsive to my ideas however much work it meant for her. It must be tempting to drop yesterday's book when something more topical and easy to push comes along, but Helen has the virtue of taking the long term view. Some books take time to find their media audience after the thrill of the initial publicity campaign has come and gone. Sometimes, success is just a matter of staying in there and waiting for a lucky break. All the while Helen didn't lose faith in the book, but cracked on promoting it as before."

Philip Beresford

The Richest of the Rich (November 2007)

"Helen has worked tirelessly on the launch and promotion of our publication, securing reviews in the national press, quality magazines and radio interviews. She has instantly put journalists in touch with us and has good contacts in the media which she brings into play. I would recommend her to anyone trying to promote a new book."